Back from the Gulf Coast

Every summer I like to do some form of professional development.  Over the years I have been to the McDonald Observatory in west Texas to study the formation of planetary systems, the upper peninsula of Michigan to learn about global change and to Harvard to learn about how we learn.  This summer I decided to go to Dauphin Island Sea Lab on the Gulf Coast of Alabama.  Over the next week or so I will post about all of the incredible things that we did and explored.  First up, however, is my side trip to Bellingrath Gardens.  I flew in the day before the workshop began and had a bit of time to play tourist.  I started with the rose gardens

and then went into the greenhouse for more flowers …

and this little guy – sorry that I did not get a picture of the snake that I saw!

Outside near the house there were large lawns and more formal gardens.  I was fascinated by the coloration of the leaves.

I spent a lot of time on this boardwalk that goes through the marsh – looking for fish and turtles in the water.

I never did make it into the house, having spent so much time outside.  That is OK.  It was a full day of travel and I had a full week ahead of me.  Next up….Dauphin Island Sea Lab!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

