It all started in San Diego

in August when I had time on my hands while visiting family and friends.

Text to a colleague whose wife was expecting a baby:  Baby quilt or baby blanket?

To me:  Thank you! Baby blanket!

To colleague:  Neutral baby colors or is there something that you have to share?

To me:  The baby is a girl!

Ok, so to me that meant that I could bring on the pink – that he would need to embrace pink.  Now, before I get comments about gender stereotyping, I should say that I really like pink and that my fav color is purple and that I am not a yellow or pale green person.  I did make this yellow baby blanket for my nephew’s baby, but I did not know the gender ahead of time and always want to be sure that what I give is going to be well received by the giftee.  Some families would not use a pink blanket for a baby boy, or a blue one for a baby girl.  I want what I make to be used and loved.  Soooo, I liked this yarn because it was not so babyish.   I had six skeins and now I have these two and this… All I have left to knit are seven more squares and a border, but the baby was due yesterday…better keep knitting!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “It all started in San Diego

  1. Lol, knit woman, knit! Have a fab Christmas in between knitting squares, and hope Santa’s good to you :o)

Leave a Reply

