2011 – The year in review

So I usually don’t feel that I get too much done, so looking at what I have done this year is a good exercise for me.  This first quilt was mostly done in 2010 as part of the Paintbox Quilt Along but I got it back from the long arm quilter and then did the binding in 2011, so I say that it counts for 2011.

Next came the Supernova quiltalong.  I was working on another quilt along and just did not love it, but when I saw Lee’s design for this quilt, I knew that I had to do it.  It is put together minus the borders.  I am having this push-pull with myself of having so many quilts that are not large enough to be bed quilts.  I guess that I should get over it, add the borders and attempt to quilt this baby.  I just love the colors!

Over the summer I joined the Summer Sampler Series and wanted to see how I liked working all in solids.  These are not put together and for this one I think that I will make more blocks to enlarge the quilt.  And, about working with solids, I love it!

Finally, the  last large project was a flannel quilt for 100 quilts for kids.  I choose to send this one to a group that was collecting and distributing quilts to families that lost their homes in the fires there last summer.

Now for other things, these are all blocks that I made for the two bees that I am in.

And then here are the other random small projects and knitting I have done.

And finally, blocks from a quilt along that I started and decided that I did not love the fabric and did not like the blocks and how they were constructed – it just wasn’t for me.  These blocks will show up in something else, some other time.

So, when I look back, I have done more than I thought.  Learned a few lessons also…

–  Don’t spend time on stuff that you don’t love unless you have to (see above)

–  I like to bee/swap a bit because it lets me meet crafters from around the world, but need to keep it at a reasonable level.

–  I like to do embroidery – who knew?  Certainly not me!

–  And, be careful cutting off the ends of zippers!

Goals for next year…

–  learn to free motion quilt

–  go to the Sewing Summit and Stitches (oh, and find someone to go to each with me!)

–  Pare down/clean out and organize more

–  Chill and spend more time outside 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “2011 – The year in review

  1. Wow, you were certainly productive! Hope next year is as creative for you, and fingers crossed, I might see you at Sewing Summit…

  2. Your summer sampler quilt is so pretty, and so are all the other things you made this year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

