It’s part of my neighborhood…

well, sort of.  For Quilt Around the World II, Anita asked for blocks about our neighborhood, saying that there are houses in a neighborhood, but that there are also lots of other things such as schools and parks and things that are special to each town.  I actually started planning this while we were powerless around the fourth of July.  Instead of sewing, I was sketching and pulling fabrics to use, and then it sat until I received the other blocks – and had power 🙂  DC is built on a series of terraces that go down to the Potomac River and the National Mall, much of which is built on filled in swamp land.  There are several places where you come over a hill and briefly catch sight of a monument or the National Cathedral spires.  My daughter chose to have prom pictures taken at this scenic spot, and I believe that the DC Modern Quilt Guild even once met here.  S0, one part of my neighborhood is the Washington Monument as viewed from the Lincoln Memorial.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “It’s part of my neighborhood…

  1. What a great job you did with the reflection in the water! How fun!

  2. Oh it’s fabulous, it looks like fireworks night!

  3. Barbara

    Wonderful! Have you completed your summer list? Sounds like you have.

  4. Pingback: Is it over yet? WIP Wednesday | Tinking along

  5. Jen

    lovely block! I am making a similar one right now with the memorial. Your’s is just beautiful!

  6. I love how the sky fabric looks like fireworks!

  7. I know I’m late seeing this, but as a DC native (born at Columbia Hospital for Women back when it still existed), and soon to be DC resident again come April, this makes me happy. I’ll be joining the DC Modern Quilt Guild once I’m back.

Leave a Reply

