The Official End of Summer WIP

Since I was four, every fall I have head off to school, first as a student and then as a teacher.  Today is the first real day of school…classes…so I can delay no longer in declaring Summer 2012 over.  How did I do?  Let’s look at the Ridiculist that I wrote about earlier in the summer.

  • Finish the granny blocks for the Aqua and Red Bee.Done!
  • Make a test block for the 3×6  Sampler Quilt Mini-Bee  Done!
  • Make my starter block for the Quilt Around the World II bee.  Done!
  • Make a favorite thing block for Piece Bee With You  Done!
  • Make a house/building block for Piece Bee With You  Done!
  • Make the 6 solids blocks for the 3×6 Sampler Quilt Mini-Bee  Done!
  • Put together all of the blocks from 2 rounds of the Aqua and Red Bee to make a queen sized quilt for my daughter.  Almost done…the quilt is all put together and has been delivered to the longarm quilter..
  • Make a baby quilt for the Chinese teacher at school.  Done!
  • Design a layout for my blocks from Piece Bee With You.  The theme was under the sea and I have a jellyfish, seahorse, octopus and lots of different fish.  Not done  😦

What else did I do?  Some blocks for the QAWII Bee, three extra blocks for the aqua and red quilt, a film strip block for Piece Bee with You, two sashiko panels, a knitted baby blanket for a colleague and a knit shawl.  Drumroll please….here is how I spent the crafting portion of my summer vacation.

Along with getting reaady for school, I cleaned the sewing room.  Most projects or type of project have a bin that it goes into and the bins get stashed into the closet.  Once the good stuff was put away, I sorted the debris into recycling (yes – I recycle every scrap of paper torn from paper-piecing – we are pretty fierce about recycling in my house) and fabric and thread scraps that go to be filling for dog beds for a nearby shelter, and then a little bit of real trash.  Everything was wiped down and the room vacuumed.  I love my job and can’t imagine not having it, but it is pretty all consuming and so since my machine will not be used for a bit, I put her cover on her.  She really has a lovely, lovely cover, but do you think that she is sad in there?  I know that I am sad to lose my sewing time.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Official End of Summer WIP

  1. Barbara

    O.k. You are truly superwoman! Congratulations on creating so many beautiful things this summer; you are my role model!!! And, boy, do I miss you!

  2. Kim

    Oh yes she is sad…..don’t forget to visit her at least 15 minutes a day for sewing therapy, you’d be surprised what you can get done on a project in 15 minutes a day. When I started quilting I was a single Mom with two kids and a full time job working in ICU as an RN., At the end of the day or night I would spend 15 minutes of sewing therapy to reduce my stress. It really got me through some tough times.

    Have a super school year but don’t forget to make some time for yourself.
    Happy Sewing

  3. Jen

    Wow! So much done! I am envious.

Leave a Reply

