And we have a…

viewmaster block!  I was a tad nervous about all of the things that I needed to do…along with work…and with  some legal stuff going on.  To keep me on track – and to give a bit of a nudge that I needed, I joined in with A Lovely Year of Finishes.  My very modest goal for January was to finish the two long overdue blocks for Piece Bee With You.  One block was the British Boys Toy, for which I made a red double-decker bus.  I then got started on making a viewmaster block based on this tutorial.  I had a bear of a time getting the template to print out the correct size.  Even when I was sent jpegs…they still were a bit small so I had to enlarge them a tiny bit.  I dove through my stash and gathered all of the tiny picture prints that I could find and set out to make the wheel.January 2013 019

Pardon the stained ironing board.  I have recently seen lots of posts about making new covers for the boards, and this is really just a good table-top one, so it should not be too hard to do. Mental note to self – put it on calendar for summer…hmmm…could it be one of my things for Lovely Year of Finishes?  I then added the center heptagon, but stitched it on by hand.  For me, sometimes be hand is just faster and easier.  Then I used the six-minute circle tutorial to place this wheel under the background.  Again, hand stitching rules!  viewmaster block

So, I have met my January target.  Woo hoo!  Yay me!

And said in another voice…but you set the bar low, so get going on all else that you need to do!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “And we have a…

  1. This is fantastic! You should be so proud. Heptagon? I have a new appreciation for view masters!

  2. Woohoo! Thank you 🙂

  3. so cool! I just bought a view master for my littlest one for Christmas this year! All three of the kids were taking turns with it. The oldies really are the best toys!

  4. Your block looks fantastic! Great job finishing your goal! And don’t knock yourself down about having modest goals — at least they’re *completed* goals! 😀

  5. So adorable! I love this block!!

  6. Bar was just the right height 🙂 turned out so well!

Leave a Reply

