Puzzle Quilt

Now that I have my own digital camera, I am pretty organized in taking pics and posting what I have been working on.  Not so in the early days – especially in those days before I had a blog – or even before the internet!  Ha, ha!  Yes, I have been quilting that long!  Recently my daughter brought home a quilt to wash…an older one that I don’t think that I ever took a picture of.  It was on our guest room bed for a while and now is in her apartment, used I presume by whoever camps out overnight on the futon.  After washing it, I decided that I needed a photo and that it was now or never…so here it is. Puzzle quilt 2Once again I took it to school and asked some colleagues to help hold it up in my classroom before I dropped it off at my daughter’s apartment, so clearly this is not my best shot.   The blocks were made in 2001 as part of a Saturday Sampler at my local quilt store, Capital Quilts.  Since this was done a while ago, I don’t remember the details, but in general you paid a nominal fee to sign up and each month when you showed up for the session with the completed previous month’s block, you received a packet with material and instructions to make one block.  In the session they went over  any details, pressing hints, new techniques, etc and had a door prize etc.  Each month I made another block out of the same pattern but with different dark/light placement, hence each block has a mate.  This is why I call it my Puzzle Quilt.  Some of the mates are easy to find, like the two churn dashes.  These two were not that hard for me to find…

DSC_0004

DSC_0005

For others it is a bit harder, like a puzzle.  Can you find the almost match to this one?DSC_0003The dark blue print in the above block was the focus fabric for the whole series.  It was never my favorite, but I went with it.  I wonder what I would now choose to go with it that might give it a more modern feel.  I learned lots of new techniques from the sampler and really did improve my skills, so I guess that it was worth it.

Puzzle Quilt Stats:

Started 2001…finished  July 2002

Size –  Roughly 90″ x 90″

Machine pieced by me, machine quilted by Annalisa Leonesa

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

