Working right along…

So, what do I have to show for my first week of summer?  A week that had 5 doctor’s appointments, not all for me, but I had to go to them anyway?  A surprise was a sewing day with from friends from DCMQG and another from the NeedleChasers Guild.  They were going to make Carol’s Convertible Purse, so I said that I was in too.  First I had to make my own quilted fabric.  You use both the “front” and the “back”, but I considered this Kaffe Fassett print to be the front and a Riley Blake dots for the back and used the pattern as a guideline for my quilting.quilted fabric

Next up, constructing the front which had two outside pockets and back that has a zipper pocket.bag front

 

bag back

Here is the line up of our 4 partial purses by the end of the day…bag lineup  I got a bit further at home adding the tabs for the handle, but still have a bit more to do.  Maybe today 🙂strapless bag

I looked at the calendar and saw that I needed to start and finish my June block for heal@ do.good.stitches.  We were to make quarter cabin blocks in red, white and blue.  This was fun to make and fit the bill!  June heal

Next up, I have been planning for ages to make a Lickety Split bag, a pattern from Made by Rae.  KT and I had picked out fabric a looong time ago, so it was high time that I made it.  Here she is modeling it at the handover – pardon the poor lighting in the restaurant.  Lickety split 1Can you see the little elastic (actually a  pony tail holder) and the button closure that I added?  Also, I wanted to see how small it could be when folded up, especially since we live in the land where you pay for bags for any purchases so we are always carrying an extra bag. Don’t get me wrong, that is a good thing, but one that we had to adjust to!  This picture also is a much better sense of the colors in the fabricDSC_0172

And, since it is getting close to the end of the month, I had better get going on my goal – finishing another small quilt top from the Sunkissed line   The center panel is done but the side pieces are just hanging out seeing how they like being there.Sunkissed panel

Linking up with WIP Wednesday – go and see what fabulous stuff people are working on!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Working right along…

  1. Hi there! I’m visiting from your link up to WIP Wednesday. Wow, your bags look fantastic! The zipper and your top-stitching look great!

  2. Barbara

    Glad to see you are using your time wisely. Any time for resting?

  3. Good to see you haven’t been bored! BTW, have you worked out the answers to my questions yet? Then I can answer yours 😉

  4. Your bags are looking so cute! 🙂

Leave a Reply

