WIP Wednesday

Another week….what have I done?  Well, I had so much fun with the first Lickety Split bag, that I made another one, just for me.  On this one I made the handles just a bit longer so that when they are tied the bag is long enough to be a cross body bag which I prefer to just on the shoulder.  And, again, I had the fabric and lining set aside from way long ago, and added a ponytail holder and button as a closure.Lickety Split Bag #2

Next up was to work on my Michael Miller Challenge for the Modern quilt Guild.  Two years ago I saw this block on Flickr and just loved it…so I got the book with the pattern and did nothing with it until this week.  My idea was to make 3 of the flower blocks and then make it into a table runner.  I started and got this far DSC_0180 and then discovered a problem…I did not know how to sew the next piece in.  DSC_0181

After sewing in piece 5, you need to sew piece 6 as an angled line, and I don’t know how to do that.  I guess that I could make 5,6,and 7 as unit and then put it in, which means that I need to be awful careful about lining it up, but is there another way?  Suggestions please!

Linking up with WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced.  Be inspired by all of the wonderful work going on!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “WIP Wednesday

  1. Honestly it looks to me like the angled line is an error. I’d ignore it – it doesn’t make sense with the way paper piecing is supposed to work. Love those fabrics you’re using! That’s going to be a great project.

  2. I hope someone has an answer, I find that I have to cut the pieces and then line them up – which includes a lot of ripping out. Btw, I was introduced to the eyebrow trimmer as a wonderful tool when ripping out paper pieced patches.

  3. I think you were right about needing to sew 5, 6, and 7 as a unit. I don’t think you need to be especially careful about lining things up, though — I bet it’ll come out fine! 🙂

  4. Patty M

    I would sew 1,2 and 3 as a unit with 2 bring a two color piece. I would do the same with 5, 6 and 7 with 6 being a 2 color piece. Then I would make #4 and what I assume is #8 as two piece units. Then you would have like 5 blades to put together. Strange way to do it. What is the name of the book? Good luck

  5. Patty M

    Sorry that would be 4 blades not 5.

  6. Patty M

    OK now I am really confused. Looking at the picture it only shows three blades of each color so maybe that unnumbered piece is for lining up. I have done a lot of paper piecing and this one would throw me too. now I am curious. If you have the book title I would love to get it. Thanks

Leave a Reply

