Ta Da! Modern Quilt Guild Challenge

I had not signed up for the other fabric challenges from the MQG, but loved seeing what my guild members made for the last one, so when this was offered I went for it.  I figured that it ended after school ended, so I certainly would have time to finish.  And then the deadline was extended..some bonus time!  So, you might ask why I am finishing at the last moment…good question.  This project had a bit of a slow start.  I tried to use a certain pattern, but that was a fail.  DSC_0181I showed it to lots of people, and the consensus was that it was doable, but not how the pattern was written.  Where were the pattern testers for this published pattern?  It sort of bothers me that I actually purchased the book just for this pattern.  I kept my same basic idea and shifted to using a wedge ruler to make the petals.  Far from perfect, but much better.  Three circles set into another Michael Miller fabric – Helen’s Garden by Tamara Kate…DSC_0199

Next I fussy cut centers for the circles and hand-stitched them down.DSC_0205

Using the same blue print fabric for the back I set about quilting…I really like variegated thread for quilting..so I used King Tut 985 and went at it with my walking foot.DSC_0222

Thanks to Heather I had a bit of fabric that I could use for a narrow binding.  It actually was done a few days ago but I was waiting for a great day for pictures, which today is.  So, ta da!DSC_0217

DSC_0221

 DSC_0219

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Ta Da! Modern Quilt Guild Challenge

  1. Carolyn

    Looks great! Love everything about it, the design, colors and the quilting is the icing on the cake.

  2. That looks fantastic! Your wedge circles came out great, and I love that the inside circle is kiwi-like! 🙂

  3. Barbara

    Absolutely beautiful! I love the fabrics and colors.

  4. This turned out wonderfully, Lynne! I love the fussy cut centers (great use of that fabric) and the quilting is great!

  5. I like the flowers you put in the center of the wheels. This turned out great–thank goodness the sun came out on the 25th for photos!

  6. Lynne, you have made it look as though these fabrics were made for this design! This is terrific. Congratulations on the finish.

  7. Good luck! Out of curiosity, what was the book, that looks vaguely familiar

Leave a Reply

