February Finish…Just Barely!

I really am trying to finish up projects, and goal setting seems to be a good way to do it.  During the first week of the month I committed myself to finishing my solids sampler quilt for my February goal for A Lovely Year of Finishes – #136 on the linky sign-up.  You can read more here about the summer sampler and my inspiration for carrying it further.  First I edited out some blocks and then needed to make a few more.  There was also the lovely interruption of QuiltCon – more on that soon.  Returning from that left me a bit behind in Life.  Suffice it to say that I knew that I needed to clean the shelves of my refrigerator because I could actually see them, as in there was no food covering them up!  Then came the wind…and the snow…and on Thursday the 2 hour delay became a snow day and for me it became a sew day.  I was able to sew all of the blocks into rows and get half of the rows assembled.  This afternoon I became a sewing machine and plowed through the rest.  I debated on borders – possibly none, but wanted the quilt to be a bit bigger as it would be more usable.  I looked at the fabric that was left and basically made it as wide as possible, and will think of it as negative space for the quilting – heard a lot about negative space at QuiltCon.  I was running out of daylight, so as soon as I just barely pressed the last seam, I rushed out to the park behind my house.  I really do need to learn how to take better pictures of quilts.  Here is one of the first shots…  DSC_0616

Then I tried draping it over the bench, but did not wear boots and did not want to tromp into sooo much snow in order to not have my shadow, so we have my shadow.  Makes me look really tall, yes?  And, yes that is the semi-frozen pond in my park.DSC_0618

Finally, someone came along and helped me to drape it on a fence.  Not great, but not too bad.

DSC_0614

And so, with roughly 7.5 hours to spare….it is finished.  Linking up with A Lovely Year of Finishes. ALYOF 2015

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “February Finish…Just Barely!

  1. Carolyn

    Looks great!

  2. Melissa

    gorgeous! I like the snow backdrop.

  3. hehehe, the things we do for blog pictures… 😀 It looks beautiful! Good job finishing your goal!

Leave a Reply

