Feathers Quilt – ALYOF June Finish!

This finish is perhaps a year and a half in the making.  January 2014 I joined the Feathers QAL for the quilt designed by Alison Glass.  The sewing commenced on January 3rd and I pretty much kept on target, having the top- minus the top and bottom borders – constructed by mid-March.  I had a wee bit of trouble with the background chambray as there were many, many defects in the middle of the fabric.  Fortunately I always purchase a bit more than they say that you need, so I was able to work around the problem areas.  The feathers are Kaffe Fassett prints, as I am rather fond of them.  Last fall I finally got around to getting it to Sue Bentley, longarmer in our guild, and got it back in January.  S0oooo, you wouldn’t think that it would take me that long to bind it, but there you go….I finished the binding and minutes later went to the park behind my house for a mini-photo shoot.  The dad and son fishing there were sort of wondering what I was doing, but …oh well!  Here are my attempts at artsy shots….DSC_0876

DSC_0878

DSC_0884

A close up or two…yes, it is quilted with purple thread!

DSC_0877 DSC_0883

 

And finally…the back…another Kaffe Fassett print.  I even did a good job seaming it!DSC_0880

There you go, June’s goal done!  Linking up with ALYOF – I was #82 of the goal setting party 🙂

ALYOF 2015

 

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Feathers Quilt – ALYOF June Finish!

  1. It looks gorgeous! 🙂

  2. Barbara

    Absolutely beautiful! I love the colors and design.

  3. I love that it is quilted with purple thread! What a fabulous surprise when you look close up!

  4. That is spectacular! You did a great job on all of it. I’m very impressed. It’s lovely.

  5. thelittlestthistle

    Love this quilt! PS, on your issues in the last post, I have a tute with a whole pile of numbers to save you on the maths :o) http://www.the-littlest-thistle.com/2015/03/quilt-making-basics-tutorial-flocks-of.html

  6. Love it!! What a fun photo shoot, too. Congrats on your finish.

Leave a Reply

