WIP Wednesday

I have not done one of these WIP posts in a while…probably since I have not sewn much, even though it is summer, normally my most productive time.  However, I am getting my sewing mojo back.  By the machine I had this little stack of Riley Blake fabrics.  I was one of the lucky ones that was able to sign up for the MQG Riley Blake Challenge this spring.  I checked my email at an opportune time and actually responded and signed up immediately.  The deadline is coming up soon and so I had to develop a plan and get to work.  When at QuiltCon I had purchased a yard each of two of the coordinating fabrics, but that was it.  I discovered that my LQS did not carry this line or any Riley Blake solids, so I needed to make best use of what I had.  For the challenge they said to make something new for you…I have played with hexagons with English Paper Piecing, but not by machine.  I also had Jaybird’s Hex n More ruler that I had never used, so I thought that a hexagon project would be a good way to go.  I started sketching – the pencil is my original doodle – and the purple pen was me thinking about how to quilt it.

IMG_2090

The large flowers dictated the size of the hexagons and since I was fussy cutting, the leftovers of the fabric that I was sent were only small bits.  So here is what I came up with…a table runner.RB challenge topI then needed to decide how to quilt it, and what color thread, so decided to make a sample of different threads.  However, I had an extra hexagon, and added to it to make it a square, figuring that I might as well make something useful.  I also found that I had a brand new spool of a nice aqua that went well and tried that out.  Here is the front of my sample…

DSC_0893

And here is the back…please ignore the stray threads…

DSC_0890

I an rather liking the aqua and will keep with it.  Next up – to quilt this baby!

Linking up with Lee at Freshly Pieced

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “WIP Wednesday

  1. Your aqua thread looks nice. Have some more fun playing around.

  2. Love what you’ve made. THat Aqua thread quilts up really well

Leave a Reply

