#dcmqg2016qal

Yup, that is the hashtag for the DCMQG’s quilt along this year.  Anna of LifeSewCrafty designed it for us and sets out great instructions  for each block.  Go check it out – anyone can follow along.  We all started out strong and there were a number of snow days that we were all home sewing, so that helped.  We have all slowed down on this, but as soon as school was out I decided to get caught up.  Blocks 1 – 13 were already on my design wall.  As you can see, this is another Kaffe Fassett quilt.

DCMQG 2016 QAL 1-13

Here is what I finished up in the last week or so…

Block 14  I debated on using white as the solid, but there is so much white in some of the other blocks that I decided to try another color.

Block 14

 

Block 15  This one is huge (24.5″ square) and I relearned how to make quarter-square triangles.  Anna had great instructions and pictures for this.

Block 15

Block 16  Another huge block and quarter-square triangles too!

block 16

Block 17 – This involved half-rectangle triangles.  I have done these before  but it was good to revisit them before I totally forgot how to do them.  Plus I was in the background color quandary again.  More white?  Nope, went for that soft green instead.

Block 17

Block 18  This was the second theme block.  For the first one I substituted two of my favorite leaf blocks and so for this one I wanted a different leaf block.  I saw a picture of this block that was named Vintage Leaf block and it had a stem in the lower right hand corner.  There were no instructions, but it was easy enough to draft it.  I am not sure if I will embroider a stem…for now I like it as it is!

Block 18

Now I am ready to move on.  Block 19 has not been posted. I guess I will need to work on something else…as if it would be hard to find something to do!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

